Biographical Note of Professor Chryssa KOUVELIOTOU

Professor Chryssa Kouveliotou is a Professor of Physics at George Washington University and Director of the GWU/Astronomy, Physics, and Statistics Institute of Sciences. She studied Physics at the University of Athens, Greece and completed an MA at the University of Sussex (1977) and a PhD in Astrophysics at the Technical University of Munich (1981).
Her expertise is in observational High-Energy Astrophysics, more specifically X- & Gamma-Ray Transients, Gamma Ray Bursts (GRBs), Magnetars, X-ray Binaries. She has contributed transformative discoveries in the study of GRBs and she established the existence of magnetars, neutron stars with extreme magnetic fields.
Professor Kouveliotou has received the Descartes Prize (2002), the Rossi Prize (2003), the NASA Space Act award and Exceptional Service Medal (2005, 2012), and the Heineman Prize (2012). She holds two honorary PhDs (Universities of Sussex and Amsterdam) and she is decorated by the Greek Government as a Commander of the Order of the Honor (2015). She was elected to the US National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Royal Dutch Academy, and the Academy of Athens, Greece.